Watch us on Youtube Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to Evergreen Speedway

21st Annual 60 Minutes of FEAR Saturday June 14

June 12, 2014 by  
Filed under Speedway News

On Saturday June 14 at Evergreen Speedway KISW 99.9 presents the 21st Annual 60 Minutes of FEAR. This is one of the two major figure eight events each season. 60-minutes of continuous mayhem on the track with the ‘Planets Most Dangerous Intersection’ the fast and furious Evergreen Speedway Figure Eight. Also the 4-cylinder figure eight division, the Buzz Inn Steakhouse Stinger 8’s, will be challenged by the same intersection. In addition the Interstate Batteries Hornets and NW Vintage Modifieds will be in action. Racing starts at 6pm with spectator gates opening at 4pm for the ‘Rain or Shine’ racing at the ‘Super Speedway of the West’. Fans are protected from the elements under the covered grandstand at the Evergreen State Fairgrounds in Monroe, WA.

There are two races each season that the figure eight drivers look forward to, they are the 60-Minutes of FEAR and the Figure Eight Nationals in August. Each driver wants to add their name to the list of drivers that have won one of these major races. Last season’s 60-Minutes of FEAR winner Nick Gunderson will be back to defend. Previous winners expected are Mike Middleton 2011; Ricky Dietz 2010, 2007 & 1994; John Carlson 2008 & 2006; Steve Cox 2003, 2001, 2000 & 1998. Other past winners that may get back in a car for the big race are: Brian Gunderson 1995; Dave Brandenburg 1996; Steve Peters 2002; Don Eslick 2004 & 2012 and Greg Scott 2005 & 2009. Retired are the 1997 winner Ron Steltz and Ken Schukar 1999. There are many drivers that would like to join the past winners such as: Mike Steltz, Jake Repin, Pat Clark and Quenton Borreson. Another strong field is expected to contend for the big purse offered for this race.

Stinger 8 point leader and rookie Toby Jenkins has held the top position since the first race of the season. Two wins has kept him ahead of his nearest challenger Joselyn LaFleur with one win. In third is Jessica Gray also with one win. This highly competitive division is once again setting up for that final race of the season to decide who will be the 2014 Stinger 8 Division Champion.

Another tightly contested division is the Hornets. Last season second place in points lost the title by just 2-points. That driver leads this season’s point chase. Scott Hunt has 2-wins and leads Cody Hoopes and Zach Bristol. As with the Stinger 8’s, this division looks to be headed for another final night close finish to decide the division title holder.

The traveling NW Vintage Modifieds will be making their 2nd of three stops at Evergreen Speedway this season. They are always a fast and racey group in their older styled Open Wheeled Modifieds.

For more information and or tickets go to or call 360-805-6100.


Comments are closed.