Watch us on Youtube Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to Evergreen Speedway

29th Annual Figure Eight Nationals August 25

August 23, 2012 by  
Filed under Speedway News

Saturday August 25 at Evergreen Speedway, as part of the Evergreen State Fair, the 29th Annual KISW Figure Eight Nationals will bring the West’s best drivers to the Super Speedway of the West. A record number of laps and pay out for this prestigious event has many of the regulars and visiting figure eight drivers ready to match the tuff and fast circuit of the figure eight track. In addition the tight point’s race continues in the Buzz Inn Steakhouse Stinger 8 division plus the visiting Vintage Modifieds and Northwest Legends will add to the show. Throw in the extremely popular bump-to-pass V8 Extremes and the night is full of action. Racing starts at 6pm in conjunction with the Evergreen State Fair in Monroe, WA.

The richest purse ever offered and the $3000.00 to win has many of the past winners of the Nationals expected including last year’s winner Brian Gunderson also won the 2009 race, two time winner Greg Scott, two time winner John Carlson, four time winner Steve Peters and Ricky Dietz all cover the last ten years of this 150-lap great race. Other local favorites will include Jake Repin, Quinton Borreson, Seth Funden, Nick Gunderson, Ryan Gunderson, Pat Clark, Don Eslick and Dave Brandenburg. An outsider that cannot be counted out is Indianapolis, Indiana’s Cory Turner who won a main event earlier this season. This event in the past has brought past winners and or drivers out of retirement. Over 20-cars are expected for the 300 times through the state’s busiest intersection the X of the West’s fastest figure eight.

When it comes to the end of a season the track always hopes for great point’s races happening for the divisional titles. At Evergreen it is happening in the Stinger 8 division. Two drivers are locked into a battle heading into the final three races of the season. Josh Young the present leader has a 20-point edge on Jessica Gray. Both Young and Gray are vying for their first ever championship at Evergreen Speedway, plus Gray is in the running to be the second ever female champion at the 58-year old fabled facility. LeAnne Tanner won a championship in a Mini-Stock in 1989. Third in points Ben Chandler has the opportunity to sneak in and take the title if everything falls into place in the final three races.

Two traveling series are nearing the end their respective seasons the Northwest Vintage Modified and Northwest Legends. Both will bring their best to be challenged by the 3/8-mile paved oval.

A division that never knows what type of event they will be in until race time is the bump-to-pass V8 Extremes division. Circle track or figure eight or cat& mouse etc. could be the type of main event the official’s decide on.

The Evergreen State Fair is underway. When a fan comes to the races they need to get the race ticket at the front gate and that will give them entry to the fair also. Front gate to the grandstands will open at 4:30 and racing starts at 6pm. The fair gates open at 10am. For more information go to or or call 360-805-6100.




Comments are closed.