Watch us on Youtube Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to Evergreen Speedway

Championships & 1st Responders Tribute Sept. 8

September 6, 2012 by  
Filed under Speedway News

Saturday night September 8 at Evergreen Speedway the annual KMPS 94.1 First Responders Night will feature championship races for the Interstate Batteries Hornet and Buzz Inn Steakhouse Stinger 8 divisions plus the traveling Pro 4 Truck Series. In addition it will be the next to last race of the season for the Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stock and Foster Press NASCAR Mini-Stock divisions. There is a tribute to all First Responders who will be admitted free and a special discount for the families and friends. Many of the area Police, Fire and EMS Departments will be represented in a special First Responders race. The action starts at 6pm with spectators gates opening at 4:30pm.

The season comes to a close for the Hornet division on Saturday with a very tight championship battle between 15-year old Chad Fitzpatrick and 2010 champion Jaime Corbett. Fitzpatrick has an 18-point edge going into the final night. With a maximum of 58-points available to the winner of both his respective heat race and the A-main event it could come down to the last lap to decide the fate of these two. Corbett gained three points in last week’s races. Fitzpatrick is aiming to be the youngest to ever win a championship in any division at the 58-year old fabled Evergreen Speedway. As always this division brings out a large car count for their final race of 2012.

Stinger 8 division championship has boiled down to the final race with Josh Young in command of the point lead. Young leads Jessica Gray by 49-points. With finishing and passing points available in both the heat race and main event it is still not out of reality that Gray could still win the championship. Gray will need Young to falter to win her first championship and be only the second women to ever win a championship. Young is also looking to win his first championship. Young has grown a beard during the season, has hinted that if he wins the championship he will shave it off.

Jason Majors has the lead for the 2012 Pro 4 Truck Series championship heading into the traveling series last race. Mike Wiley is second 40-points behind Majors. Both Majors and Wiley have won championships in the past. Another nice field of trucks is expected for their championship night.

With two races remaining this season for the Street Stock and Mini-Stock divisions, Saturday night’s races loom large for those in the chase. Street Stock division leader Frank Cowgill has a 29-point margin over Frank Ptacek. In the Mini-Stock division Jon Roberts has a commanding lead 73-point lead over Michael Fritz. Roberts still will need a good finish on Saturday to potentially sew up his first ever championship.

For tickets and or more information go online to or call 360-805-6100.



Comments are closed.