Watch us on Youtube Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to Evergreen Speedway

Dietz Wins Fig. 8 Nationals

July 28, 2013 by  
Filed under Speedway News

Monroe, WA (July 28, 2013): On Saturday July 27 the 30th Annual Emerald City Harley-Davidson in Lynnwood Figure Eight Nationals at Evergreen Speedway, Ricky ‘The kid’ Dietz won the 150-lap event. It was the second time Dietz won this prestigious race for Super/Stock Figure Eights the last came in 2002. The same night the Speedway Chevrolet NASCAR Whelen All American Series Super Late Models held a 75-laps feature on the 3/8-mile oval and Shane Harding made it two-in-a-row. Duane Schoesbeck won the 20-lap Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stock main. The Foster Press NASCAR Mini-Stock main was won by Scott Burby and the Buzz Inn Steakhouse main was won by Jessica Gray. A great crowd enjoyed the fantastic weather and beer in the grandstands for the first time.

Dietz got one National win closer to matching his father Vern’s ‘The Crazy Cajun’ three wins of this long standing major West Coast figure eight race. Ricky dominated the 150-lap race by lapping the entire field before it was over. Only one close call came mid-way through the race when Dietz got tangled with a slower car and took a bit of time to get going again. The lead by Dietz (3/4’s of a lap) shrank to a few car lengths. Not to be denied his second Nationals win, Dietz took off and was never again in peril. One lap down John Carlson finished second ahead of Seth Funden. Fourth went to Lance O’Grain and fifth to Mike Steltz. The race started with a major incident on lap four when Steltz and Doug Delfel met at the intersection and Delfel’s car rolled over. Neither driver was hurt and Steltz was able to continue unlike Delfel. The figure eight cars return next week August 3rd for the Rory Price Memorial presented by Pettit Oil Night and will be joined by the NW Outlaw Figure Eights.

Harding won his second race in succession by winning another 75-lap feature on the 3/8-mile. Harding had trouble getting by second place finisher Shane Sawin. Sawin was very strong and made his first trip to the podium as a Super Late Model driver. Harding once by Sawin kept five car lengths ahead of Sawin to the finish. Third place was Daniel Moore who gained ground on points leader Tom Moriarity who finished seventh. Fourth went to Doni Wanat and fifth went to Scott LaCross. Next time out the Super Late Models are on the 5/8-mile for the Genie Can-Am 125 in conjunction with the NAPA Auto Parts NASCAR K&N Pro Series West 150 on August 17th.

Schoesbeck started on the pole of the Street Stock main and never gave up the lead even after six restarts. It was a slam bang event for the normally docile division. Second went to points leader Roger Drake and third place finisher was Steve Ptacek. In fourth it was Chad Fitzpatrick followed by Jason McQuinn. Next up for this competitive division will be next Saturday August 3 as a prelude to the Rory Price Memorial race for the ASA NSRA Winged Sprints.

Mini-Stock winner Scott Burby had an easy time in gaining his first win this season. The 30-lap main saw a Volkswagen Beatle driven by Rod Helmuth work his way through the field to second and a chance to catch Burby. Gaining ground each lap Helmuth ran out of laps as the checkers flew. In third was Chuck Richard. Fourth went to Pete Jensen (nearly 70-years old)who has won a race in each of the last five decades and was trying for a sixth in that many decades. Next up for the Mini-Stocks is in 2-weeks on August 10 as part of the Annual Foster Press Mayors Cup and Chamber Night at the Races.

Gray won her first Stinger 8 main of the season with a bold move at the intersection. Leader of the race and point leader for the division championship Todd Stillwell had to avoid traffic by slowing while Gray stayed up to speed to wiggle through. Gray then proceeded to withstand the pressure applied by Stillwell to gain that first win. Third place went to Joselyn LaFleur followed closely by Nicole Pollard and Matt Somerville. Stinger 8’s next time out will be on August 24th during the Evergreen State Fair and Buzz Inn Steakhouse Night at the Races.

Next up at Evergreen Speedway on Saturday August 3rd is the Annual Rory Price Memorial presented by Pettit Oil. The night will feature the fastest cars to ever race on the Monster 5/8-mile oval the ASA NSRA Winged Sprint Cars. These open wheeled speed demons hold the all time track record of :18.732. In addition two other track surfaces will be used with the Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stocks and WMRA/USAC Midgets on the 3/8-mile oval. The NW Outlaw Figure Eights on the speedy Figure Eight. Racing starts at 6pm with spectator gates opening at 4pm. You may want to get there early for NSRA qualifying and see if the all time track record falls. For tickets or more information go to or call 360-805-6100.



Comments are closed.