Watch us on Youtube Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to Evergreen Speedway

Eslick Finally Wins Figure Eight Nationals

August 27, 2012 by  
Filed under Speedway News

On Saturday August 25 at Evergreen Speedway ‘Slick’ Don Eslick won the 29th Annual KISW Figure Eight Nationals after twenty-two tries. In other divisions running their respective features on this historic night, Josh Young won the Buzz Inn Steakhouse Stinger 8 main and Robert Rux won the Northwest Vintage Modified main. The Figure Eight Nationals was held during the Evergreen State Fair. A large crowd watched history made with Eslick getting the $3000.00 winner’s share of the richest payout ever  and the most laps ever 150, of this famous figure eight race.

The drivers drew for their starting position of the record setting 150-lap 29th Figure Eight Nationals. Eslick drew the outside of the front row and used that to his advantage. Leading from the opening lap to lap 29 when Quinton Borreson took over the lead after Eslick had to slow for traffic at the X. Eslick took the lead back on lap 43 and led the remainder of the race. The closest call for Eslick came when Jake Repin had closed to within 6 car lengths and a major traffic jam at the X. As the fans gasped, without hesitation Eslick slithered his way through the X. Not able to do the same Repin was slowed by the traffic and was never able to make up the lost distance. Climbing atop his car after he pulled to victory circle Eslick screamed, “Finally, I finally won this thing.” On victory stage Eslick still jubilant stated, “I can’t believe I finally won the Nationals. Correct me if I am wrong but I believe it has been 22 tries. I have led before only to be disappointed. I led one National with 5 or 6 laps to go and had a flat tire.” Throwing up his hands, “I did it, I did it.” Repin finished second and a happy Pat Clark finished third.

Young drew closer to garnering his first ever Stinger 8 championship by winning the 30-lap feature. The win was his second in a row. With just two races remaining Young just needs strong finishes to get the championship. His closest pursuer Jessica Gray finished fifth for the second week in a row. Ben Chandler finished a strong second and John Lewis (Young’s dad) finished third.

The traveling Northwest Vintage Modified main winner Rux held of all challengers to get his first win this season and first at Evergreen. Bobby Wheeler Jr. finished 2nd and John Mustered finished third.

Next up at Evergreen Speedway is the doubleheader on Labor Day Weekend September 1 & 2 as part of the Evergreen State Fair. On Saturday September 1 it will be NAPA Auto Parts NASCAR Night at the Races featuring the Speedway Chevrolet NASCAR Whelen All American Series I-5 Challenge Super Late Model twin 50’s on the 3/8-mile paved oval. Plus the Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stocks, Foster Press NASCAR Mini-Stocks, NASCAR Super Figure Eights and the traveling WMRA (Washington Midget Racing Association). Starting time is 6pm with front gates opening at 4:30pm. On Sunday September 2 the Annual Evergreen State Fair Demolition Derbies featuring a Truck and Car Demo, plus the Mr. Dizzy Stunt Team performing death defying stunts, Buzz Inn Steakhouse Stinger 8’s, Interstate Batteries Hornets, V-8 Extremes and another of the famous giant Firework displays. Action starts at 6pm with front gates opening at 3pm. Sundays Derby will have reserved seating for the first time. Go online to or to get tickets. Remember to ask for the race ticket when you come to the fair, that will include entry to the race track and the fair on the same ticket. Call 360-805-6100 for more information.

Evergreen Speedway August 25 Results:

29th Annual KISW Figure Eight Nationals (150-laps):  1-Don Eslick; 2-Jake Repin; 3-Pat Clark; 4-Steve Peters; 5-Quinton Borreson; 6-Cory Turner; 7-Seth Funden; 8-Mike Stelts; 9-Greg Scott; 10-John Carlson; 11-Brian Gunderson; 12-Jessica Wilkinson; 13-Richard Shanebrook; 14-Nick Dunham; 15-Steve Schoenfeldt; 16-Doug Wilkinson; 17-Tommy Gapp; 18-Jim Downey; 19-Zack Larson

Buzz In Steakhouse Stinger 8’s (30-laps): 1-Josh Young; 2-Ben Chandler; 3-John Lewis; 4-Nicole Pollard; 5-Jessica Gray; 6-James Whisman; 7-Matt Somerville; 8-Bryant Carlson; 9-Zach Bristol; 1-Joselyn LaFleur; 11-Melissa Repin; 12-Robert Bridgewater; 13-Lance O’Grain; 14-Ryan Barber; 15-Tyler Tiedeman

Northwest Vintage Modifieds (30-laps – 3/8-mile oval): 1-Robert Rux; 2-Bobby Wheeler Jr.; 3-John Mustered; 4-Chuck Peterson; 5-Tony Carabello; 6-Mike Clother; 7-Jeff Peterson; 8-Dawn Huntley; 9-Todd McCartney



Comments are closed.