Watch us on Youtube Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to Evergreen Speedway

Mann & Hughs Winners

September 2, 2012 by  
Filed under Speedway News

Saturday September 1st in conjunction with the 104th Evergreen State Fair, Evergreen Speedway held NAPA Night at the Races presented by Rodland Toyota. The Speedway Chevrolet NASCAR Whelen All American Series I-5 Challenge Super Late Models had twin 50 lap mains on the 3/8-mile oval. Race one Kelly Mann was victorious and in a surprising finish Tom Hughs won race two. Steve Peters won the NASCAR Super Figure Eight main. Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stock main winner was Roger Drake and the Foster Press NASCAR main was won by Jon Roberts. Kris McKenzie broke a long standing WMRA (Washington Midget Racing Association) qualifying record and followed that with a main event win.

Race one for the Super Late Models had 17 cars take the green for the 50-lap main. Kelly Mann took the lead on lap 25 and never had to look back on the way to his second win this season. Naima Lang finished second as he draws nearer to a fourth championship. Andy Sole made his first trip to the podium as a Super Late Model racer with a third place finish. There were three lead changes with John Bender leading the first 11-laps when he handed the lead off to Daniel Moore who led until Mann took it to the checkers.

Race two for the Super Late Models was completely different than race one. With the full blue moon rising in the east, it took hold of the drivers. Lap one was aborted twice due to accidents and lap two had to be restarted twice due to incidents. Then on lap four there was a major crash exiting turn two taking out Kelly Mann with significant damage to the front of his car. Many of the cars involved took off to pit road during the red flag to get their cars worked on. After a long cleanup of the mess left behind and the lateness of the night it was decided to shorten the 50-lap main to 35-laps. Doni Wanat led the first 18-laps when in traffic lost it to John Bender. Bender had the lead until lap 35 when Bender and Wanat encountered slower traffic. Each trying to find a way through the traffic got caught up in turn three and both went sliding off the track opening the door for Tom Hughs to get the win. It was Hughs’ first victory this season. Second place Doug Davidson was back on the podium after a many year draught. Rookie, 17-year old, Molly Helmuth made her first trip to the podium with a third.

Super Figure Eight winner Steve Peters held the lead for the last 10-laps of the 30-lap feature. Peters second in the points aided his efforts to overtake point leader Jake Repin for the championship by gaining the maximum finishing points. Repin finished a strong second. Quinton Borreson made yet another trip to the podium this season with a third place finish.

Starting from the rear of the 16-car Street Stock 30-lapmain Roger Drake used the outside lane to work his way to the top by lap 22. Drake celebrated his first main event win of the year. Although until the checkers flew it was in question with fast approaching Joe Kneeland making it a photo finish. Kneeland was second and third went to Steve Ptacek.

Jon Roberts won a season high for all divisions his eighth. On his way to a first championship Roberts led the final 27-laps of the 30-lap feature. Michael Fritz tried to chase down Roberts to no avail and settled for second. Visiting outlaw compact driver Chad Benjamin made his first trip up to the podium  via a third place run.

A WMRA track qualifying record that was set back in 1995 by Rick Moss was broken after Kris McKenzie finished with a new record of :16.249 on the 3/8-mile. The old mark was :16.497. McKenzie then followed his record setting lap with a win of the 30-lap main. Mitch Hoffses finished second and Troy Globe was third.

Next up at Evergreen Speedway will be September 8th for the annual First Responders Tribute Night with all first responders (Police, Fire, EMS, corrections, etc.) admitted free and their families and or friends up to four admitted for $20. It will be championship night for the Interstate Batteries Hornet and Buzz Inn Steakhouse Stinger 8’s. In addition the Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stocks, Foster Press NASCAR Mini-Stocks and Pro 4 Trucks will be on the docket. Action starts at 6pm with front spectator gates opening at 4:30. For more information and or tickets go online to or call 360-805-6100.

Evergreen Speedway September 1 Results:

Speedway Chevrolet NASCAR Whelen All American Series I-5 Challenge Super Late Models:

Twin 50-laps mains 3/8-mile Oval:

Race #1: 1-Kelly Mann; 2-Naima Lang; 3-Andy Sole; 4-Tom Hughs; 5-Doug Davidson;6-Daniel Moore; 7-Donny Wanat; 8-John Lathrup Jr.; 9-Tommy Rasmussen; 10-Marty Ferguson; 11-Timothy Minister; 12-Jessie Anderson; 13-Jeff Knight; 14-Molly Helmuth; 15-John Bender; 16-Shane Sawin; 17-Tim McDougald

Race #2 (shortened to 35-laps due to time constraints): 1-Tom Hughs; 2-Doug Davidson; 3-Molly Helmuth; 4-Andy Sole; 5-Donny Wanat; 6-John Bender; 7-Jeff Knight; 8-Naima Lang; 9-Tommy Rasmussen; 10-Shane Sawin; 11-Jessie Anderson; 12-Marty Ferguson; 13-Timothy Minister; 14-Tim McDougald; 15-John Lathrup Jr.;16-Daniel Moore; 17-Kelly Mann

NASCAR Super Figure Eights (30-lap main): 1-Steve Peters; 2-Jake Repin; 3-Quinton Borreson; 4-Don Eslick; 5-Tommy Gapp; 6-Mike Steltz; 7-Nick Dunham; 8-Rich Groshong; 9-Steve Schoenfeldt; 10-Bruce Wilson

Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stocks (3/8-mile oval 30-laps): 1-Roger Drake; 2-Joe Kneeland; 3-Steve Ptacek; 4-Darrell Lutovsky; 5-Frank Cowgill; 6-Kenny Erickson; 7-Jim Foti; 8-Tim Widener; 9-Jeff Miller; 10-Scott Giebel; 11-Brandy Hatch; 12-Eric Gimmaka; 13-Kim Lang; 14-Brian Cottrell; 15-Charlie Davis; 16-Zach Bristol

Foster Press NASCAR Mini-Stocks (3/8-mile oval 30-laps): 1-Jon Roberts; 2-Michael Fritz; 3-Chad Benjamin; 4-Gary Hanawalt; 5-Nat Barber; 6-Andrew Schukar; 7-Scott Burby; 8-Jim Perry; 9-Eric Angeledes; 10-Mark Creager; 11-Travis Woodward; 12-Devin Kessler; 13-Mike Hessler; 14-Jim Cutrell; 15-Chuck Richard; 16-Bob Edwards

WMRA (Washington Midget Racing Association) (3/8-mile oval 30-laps): 1-Kris McKenzie; 2-Mitch Hoffses; 3-Troy Globe; 4                Aaron Willison; 5-Skeet Flake; 6-Billy Bell; 7-Kevin Koepke; 8-Ray Jones; 9-James Pirie; 10-Steve Hora



Comments are closed.