Watch us on Youtube Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to Evergreen Speedway

Moore Gets Hat Trick

September 1, 2013 by  
Filed under Speedway News

On Saturday night August 31 at Evergreen Speedway on  the annual NASCAR Night presented by Northsound Racing and KING 5 TV, Daniel Moore took top honors in both Speedway Chevrolet NASCAR Whelen All American Series Super Late Model mains and was the quickest qualifier. In other action at the Evergreen State Fair, Roger Drake won the Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stock main. Eric Whittaker won the Foster Press NASCAR Mini-Stock feature. The Interstate Batteries Hornet main winner was by Scott Hunt. Evan Margeson won the WMRA Midget main.

Moore who took over the points lead for the 2013 Super Late Model championship at the last race padded his lead by winning both 50-lap mains on the 3/8-mile. With just one race remaining for the season Moore will have a slightly comfortable lead. The Championship race will be on the BIG track on September 14. In race number one Moore grabbed the lead on lap 19 and never had problems. Second place went to Shane Sawin and third went to Scott LaCross.  In race number two, Moore took over the top position on lap 43. Getting by leader Tom Moriarity who finished second, Moore cemented the triple win night and potentially the championship. Third went to John Zaretzke who took over the Jason Kooy car for the second race.

Street Stock point leader Drake also added to his point total and opened up a gap that may be insurmountable with two races remaining in this divisions run to the championship. The Street Stocks are on for next Saturday September 7 and the championship night September 14. Drake used the outside groove to get to the front on lap 28 of the 30-lap feature. Steve Ptacek who held the lead up to that point finished second ahead of Darrel Lutovsky. Early leader rookie 16-year old Chad Fitzpatrick had the lead until on a restart on lap 15 when a miscue got him a bit sideways and slid back to finish fifth. Fourth went to Joe Kneeland.

Whittaker winner of the Mini-Stock main is a visiting Outlaw Compact racer and does not get the winning points. Joe Hobbs who finished second will receive those points. Jon Roberts who came into the night with a sizeable lead in his effort to repeat as the division title holder had a DNF. With one race remaining this season Roberts only needs to get the green on championship night September 14. Second in points Devin Kessler had an eighth place finish and was unable to make a major dent into Roberts’ big lead. Third place in the race went to Outlaw driver Chad Benjamin and fourth went to another outlaw driver Jim Perry. Fifth was local racer Scott Burby.

The point’s battle for the Hornet Division title got a bit closer with second in points Scott Hunt taking the win and point leader Cyril Greenawalt finishing fifth. That is a 10-point difference. With Hunt winning his heat race and Greenawalt second in his there was a one point difference there. Unofficially the 20-point lead for Greenawalt is down to nine points. The Hornet division has two races remaining with a 3/8-mile oval race on September 14 and the championship on September 21. Second place in the race went to Mark Hubbard and third to Mike Dahar. Rick Hubbard was fourth.

Margeson again as he has each time he has raced here in the last two seasons with the WMRA owned the track. Winning by over 4 seconds Margeson keeps his streak alive. Second went to Ton Seidelman and third to Brad Curtis.

Next up at Evergreen Speedway is the annual Economy Fence 1st Responders Night on Saturday September 7. The night will feature the Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stocks, WESCO Winged Sprints, Columbia River Legends and NW Vintage Modifieds all on the 3/8-mile oval. The racing will start at 6pm with front gates opening at 4pm. All tickets are just $7 and students with an ASB card and 1st Responders will be admitted free. For more information and or tickets go to or call 360-805-6100.




Comments are closed.