Watch us on Youtube Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to Evergreen Speedway

Moore Wins SLM 75

May 11, 2014 by  
Filed under Speedway News

This past Saturday May 10 it was Military Tribute Night presented by Coastal Community Bank at Evergreen Speedway ‘The Home of the $100, 000.00 Summer Showdown’. Daniel Moore won the 75-lap Speedway Chevrolet NASCAR Whelen All American Series Super Late Model feature. The Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stock 30-lap main was won by young Chad Fitzpatrick, first ever for the 17-year old second year driver. Mark Hubbard won the 25-lap main for the Interstate Batteries Hornet Division. In the 25-lap feature for the Buzz Inn Steakhouse Stinger 8 Division, Jessica Gray was the winner. In the new division, the Super Stock Figure 8’s, the winner was “The One Armed Bandit’ Quenton Borreson. Evergreen Speedway won the battle with the weather this weekend. There was a brief shower early in the afternoon with the track drying out by race time.

Daniel Moore, the 2013 NASCAR track and State of Washington Champion, drove from mid-pack of the 18-car Super Late Model field to win his first of the season feature in defense of his title. The drive to the front did not come easy. There was a mishap involving four cars and Moore’s car was involved with his car going airborne over the front end of, last race winner, Mike Holden. Both were able to continue albeit with mangled cars. Once Moore got to the front he had to contend with four time division champion Naima Lang. Getting by Lang, Moore took the lead but could not shake Lang. With Lang directly behind, Moore withstood a few attempts by Lang to take the lead back. The last attempt came late in the race with Lang getting out of shape as he attempted to get by, losing the second position to Mike Holden. Holden made an attempt to get by Moore on a double file restart with four laps to go. Moore again thwarted the attempt to garner the win. Holden finished a close second and Andy Sole took third. Fourth went to Jason Kooy followed by Peter Link. Lang fell back to sixth.

The crowd stood on their feet as young Street Stock driver Chad Fitzpatrick held back last season’s champion and winner of the first three races this season Roger Drake. Fitzpatrick won the Hornet Division championship two seasons ago to become the youngest to ever win a championship at Evergreen Speedway. This was his first win in the bigger car division. It was a thrill for the high school student to get his first win in this NASCAR division. Drake was as happy for the youngster also. Third went to Kevin Compton his first visit to the podium in his first season of racing and gaining the lead for the division Rookie of the Year honors. Fourth went to Darrell Lutovsky and Kenny Erickson finished fifth.

The Hornet Division ran on the road course and Mark Hubbard grabbed the lead early and went on to win his second main of the season. Second place went to Scott Hunt as the two swapped positions in last week’s race. Finishing third was rookie Justin Brave, a 14-yearold. Fourth went to Rick Hubbard and fifth went to Cody Hoopes.

Jessica Gray got back to victory stage for the first time this season. With a strong run in the Stinger 8 main.  Gray showed why she was second in points the last two seasons. Second went to last week’s Stinger Nationals winner Joselyn LaFleur. In third it was Cody Hoopes. Fourth and fifth went to Toby Jenkins and Matt Somerville respectively.

With one arm, Quenton Borreson won the Super Stock Figure 8 main. This was ‘the One Armed Bandit’s’ second win in a row. Second place went to, the winner of the season opener for this new division, Steve Peters. In third was Steve Schoenfeldt followed by Doug Delfel and Jessie Burtino.

Next Up: The annual two day doubleheader for the Memorial Day Holiday weekend. On Saturday May 24 the Grocery Outlet Bargain Market Mark Galloway 150 Shootout for the Super Late Models on the BIG track the 5/8-mile paved oval. A tune-up race for the $100,000.00 Summer Showdown in June. In addition the Street Stocks, Mini-Stocks and Columbia River Legends will be on the 3/8-mile paved oval. On Sunday may 25 it is the Republic Services presents Sean Peters Memorial Truck Fest. The night will feature Outlaw Figure 8’s, Stinger 8’s, Hornets, Boat Races, Renegades, Legends, Truck Demo Derby and Fireworks. Both nights start at 6pm. For tickets and or more information go to or call 360-805-6100.


Evergreen Speedway May 10 Official Results:

Speedway Chevrolet NASCAR Whelen All American Series Super Late Models (75-laps 3/8-mile oval): 1. Daniel Moore, 2. Mike Holden, 3. Andy Sole, 4. Jason Kooy, 5. Peter Link, 6. Naima Lang, 7. Scott LaCross, 8. Jeff Knight, 9. Molly Helmuth, 10. Tyler Tanner, 11. Tyler Baker, 12. Brandon Scheiber, 13. Shane Sawin, 14. Timothy Minister, 15. John Boyatt, 16. Doni Wanat, 17. Tommy Rasmussen, 18. Tim McDougald

Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stocks (30-laps 3/8-mile oval): 1. Chad Fitzpatrick, 2. Roger Drake, 3. Kevin Compton, 4. Darrell Lutovsky, 5. Kenny Erickson, 6. Mike Marthaller Jr. 7. Steve Ptacek, 8. Jim Foti, 9. John McCourt, 10. Nikki Bristol, 11. Carl Davidson

Interstate Batteries Hornets (25-laps Road Course): 1. Mark Hubbard, 2. Scott Hunt, 3. Justin Brave, 4. Rick Hubbard, 5. Cody Hoopes, 6. Cullen Hubbard, 7. Chad Chase, 8. Jason Wilson, 9. 9x, 10. Bob Burks, 11. Mike Ridley, 12. Zach Bristol, 13. John Hilburn

Buzz Inn Steakhouse Stinger 8’s (25-laps Figure 8 Track): 1. Jessica Gray, 2. Joselyn LaFleur, 3. Cody Hoopes, 4. Toby Jenkins, 5. Matt Somerville, 6. Zach Bristol, 7. Lance O’Grain, 8. Jason Wilson, 9. Mark Keith, 10. Tyler Draper, 11. Mike Ridley, 12. Chad Chase

Super Stock Figure 8’s (30-laps Figure 8 Track): 1. Quentin Borreson, 2. Steve Peters, 3. Steve Schoenfeldt, 4. Doug Delfel, 5. Jessie Burtino, 6. Brian Little, 7. Bruce Wilson


Comments are closed.