Watch us on Youtube Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to Evergreen Speedway

NASCAR Opener at Evergreen Speedway April 14

April 12, 2012 by  
Filed under Speedway News

This Saturday night April 14 at the ‘Northwest Center of Racing’, Evergreen Speedway the 2012 NASCAR season gets underway. Evergreen is the only NASCAR sanctioned track in the Northwest. Three of the speedway’s NASCAR divisions debut with the Hornets back for a second week. The new feature division NASCAR Super Figure Eights will be joined by the NASCAR Street Stocks and NASCAR Foster Press Mini-Stocks. The racing begins at 6pm and the front spectator gates open at 4:30pm.

During the off season it was decided by track officials the 2012 race season feature division at the ‘Super Speedway of the West’ would be the Super Figure Eights. This was done in recognition for their many years of support. There will bigger payouts and they will be the marquee racing division on many nights during the season. That is the case this Saturday when the NASCAR Super Figure Eights take to their respective fast and furious figure eight surface. Last season’s champion Brian Gunderson will return to defend with sons Nick and Ryan back to give dad a run for his money. Jake Repin the 2010 champion and second in 20111 is expected back. There has been a bunch of new cars built during the off season. A few drivers that have not been at Evergreen in a while are also expected. This is setting up to be a banner year for the speedway’s feature division.

Joe Kneeland the 2011 champion of the NASCAR Street Stock division will return and vie for two in a row. He along with others racing on the redesigned 3/8-mile paved oval will be seeing a new wall that was added on the outside of turns 1 & 2 continuing part way along the backstretch. The new wall allows for less room for error. Others expected for the season opener for the Street Stock division are: Steve Ptacek, Brian Cottrell, Jim Foti and many others.

In the highly competitive NASCAR Foster Press Mini-Stock division there will not be a repeat champion. Last season’s champ Scott LaCross has moved on and will be driving in the NASCAR Super Late Model division. Others expected to challenge for the coveted title of season champion are: Jon Roberts, Bobby DeYoung, Andrew Shukar, Dale Creager and Molly Helmuth.

The Hornet division moves into their second weekend in a row of racing with last week’s winner Chris Williamson on top in the point’s battle. Josh LaPlante, Brent Crise and Kevin Hornbeck are also strong candidates to garner their first win in 2012.

All the action of the NASCAR Opener starts at 6pm with front spectator gates opening at 4:30pm. For more information and tickets go to the speedway’s web page at or call 360-805-6100.



Comments are closed.