Watch us on Youtube Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to Evergreen Speedway

Winged Sprints on the BIG Track April 27

April 25, 2013 by  
Filed under Speedway News

Evergreen Speedway on Saturday April 27 hosts the American Speed Association NSRA Winged Sprints on the BIG 5/8-mile oval as part of a full night of racing on Interstate Batteries Night at the Races. The NSRA Sprint Cars are the fastest cars ever at Evergreen Speedway with the all-time track record of :18.732 lap on the BIG track. In addition the WMRA/USAC Midgets along with the Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stocks, Foster Press NASCAR Mini-Stocks and the Interstate Batteries Hornet Nationals all on the 3/8-mile oval. The Hornets will have a purse for the top ten with the winners share being $500.00. A large car count in all divisions is expected. Racing begins at 6pm and spectators gates open at 4pm. Come out early and enjoy the all new Speedway Concessions provided by High Road Promotions.

The winged sprint cars are back on the BIG track and that has drawn over 20 of the best-of-the-best pavement open wheel racers. Three time series champion Andy Alberding of Roseburg, OR, Sierra Jackson the 2011 series champion from Meridian, ID, ‘Quick’ Rick Brown of Springfield, OR and Canada’s Jeff Montgomery are just of the few from the Northwest. Local contenders that need to be watched are Monroe’s Robert Beck and Lynnwood’s Todd Coleman. The question always is will the all-time tack record be set again. The fastest ever was set in 2003 by Trevor Montgomery at :18.732. There have been some very close times set over the last nine years.

Always entertaining and fast on the 3/8-mile are the Washington Midget Racing Association USAC Midgets. These open wheel speed demons keep the fans on their feet as they slice their way around the banked oval.

Back in action after a week off is the Street Stock Division. Will Roger Drake win his third feature in as many races to start the 2013 campaign towards the season championship? Darrel Lutovsky has been on the podium in the two previous races is in second in the chase for the championship. Jason McQuinn is third. Last time out rookie contender 16-year old Chad Fitzpatrick finished third.

Jon Roberts is defending his 2012 Mini-Stock championship well with two wins in as many races for this division. Travis Woodward is second in points followed closely by former champion Chuck Richard.

With $500 going to the winner of the Hornet Nationals on the 3/8-mile, a large swarm of Hornets is expected. The top ten finishers will share in the $1250.00 purse. Some of the top drivers vying for the money will be Jaime Corbett, Mark Keith and Zach Bristol. Over 50 cars can be expected for this one.

A full night of racing on both the BIG 5/8-mile and the fast 3/8-mile ovals at Evergreen Speedway located at the Evergreen State Fairgrounds in Monroe. WA. Racing on Saturdays begins at 6pm. Go to or call 360-805-6100 for tickets and or information.


Comments are closed.