Watch us on Youtube Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to Evergreen Speedway

Winged Sprints Return To Evergreen’s 5/8-Mile

August 1, 2013 by  
Filed under Speedway News

The American Speed Association (ASA) NSRA Open Wheel Winged Sprint Cars roll onto Evergreen Speedway’s Monster 5/8-mile oval this Saturday August 3rd for the Annual Rory Price Memorial (RPM) presented by Pettit Oil. These speed demons own the all-time speed record on the BIG track at :18.732 set  in March of 2003 by Trevor Montgomery. Track conditions should be favorable to set a new all-time speed record. Track officials are holding qualifying until 6pm so that fans will have the opportunity to potentially witness the fastest lap ever. In addition the 3/8-mile oval will be used by the WMRA/USAC Midgets and the Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stocks. The fast figure eight track will have the Northwest outlaw Figure Eights in a points race. The racing action starts at 6pm with spectator gates opening at 4pm and competitor gates opening at 1pm.

Seven years ago a tragic accident jolted the racing community, Rory Price, a racer, friend, father, husband and son lost his life far too early.  Since his passing RPM has become a sanctuary for those who knew Price, and a time to celebrate the extraordinary life of one of our own. Price’s family and friends have used their loss to rally together in an effort to carry on Rory’s love for open wheeled racing.  Thanks to their countless hours of work and generous donations they have made the RPM one of the most prestigious races in the Northwest and have raised thousands of dollars towards The Rory Price Family Fund which ensures Rory’s daughter a secure future.

Twenty plus cars are expected Saturday night, Washington’s drivers would like to keep the RPM winner in state.  Todd Coleman, Robert Beck and Greg Middendorf were all close to Price, and any of the three drivers would love more than anything to hoist the RPM trophy over their head.  Beck was last year’s early leader but his night was cut short when he lost a power steering line, subsequently ending his night.  Perhaps the most surprising and exciting name for this race is, Billy Kennelly.  Kennelly was one of Price’s best friends, and for the first time ever will compete in the race that honors his long time friend.

Expected to make the trek south from Canada should include drivers; Dave Salamandick, Chris Schmelzle, Ron Larson, Guy Barrett, Scott Aumen, Robbie Haslam and Matt Mansell. Fan favorite, Sierra Jackson has had some bumps along her 2013 campaign, but hopes to use the RPM to set her season back on track.  She is sure to have her hands full with fellow Idaho driver and teammate Johnny “The Jet” Giesler, who looks for his first NSRA championship and is consistently one of the fastest competitors.  Three Oregon drivers, combining for ten ASA/NSRA championships between them, will make the tow. No driver has been more dominant in RPM races than Matt Hein, winning three of the six races including the last two in a row. He’s also the 2008 and 2009 NSRA champion.  Andy Alberding, 2007, 2010 and the defending series champion and current points leader, searches for his first RPM victory.  Lastly, the one known as “Quick” Rick Brown, he is the only driver to ever win an unprecedented five ASA/NSRA championships.

Another great group of Street Stocks will be on hand for their portion of the night. Roger Drake the points leader for the 2013 division championship will try to get back on the podium for the seventh time in nine races this season. The previous six include 3-wins, 2-seconds and 1-third. Second in the points chase is Jason McQuinn who has made a trip up to the podium five times this season. A close third in the chase is Darrel Lutovsky with four visits to the victory stage podium.

The NWOF8 will have a full contingent racing on the speedway’s fast and furious figure eight track. This points race is expected to draw the best of their discipline style of racing for this special night.

Three track surfaces will be in use the BIG 5/8-mile, the fast 3/8-mile and the Figure Eight. A night that you won’t want to miss. Be there on time 6pm to see if a NSRA driver can eclipse the all-time track record on the 5/8. For more information go to or call 360-805-6100.


Comments are closed.